Quick Tip – Wine Bottles

January 2, 2008 at 8:20 pm (Quick Tips, Winemaking, Winemaking Tips) (, , , , )

There are a lot of small wineries here in Pennsylvania. They all have tasting rooms and they go through a couple of cases of wine each week. I’ve become friends with one of my local guys. I stop by to exchange ideas and I take him my wines to try.

He’s always offered to sell me supplies that he buys in bulk. I used to purchase bottles from him because I liked that they were all the same size and shape (it makes for easier storage) and he was cheaper ($9 a case).

He used to clean his used bottles, but he’s grown too big and now he’s recycling them. When I found that out, I asked him to save some for me. They don’t mind as long as I don’t let them pile up. His labels are easy to clean off. If your local place’s labels don’t come off in hot water, find another winery.

2 Comments

  1. ChezP said,

    For labels which leave a gummy residue:
    After soaking your old wine bottles in hot water, use a razor blade to remove the labels. You can try to remove any residual glue using packing tape to try to pull it off. But the trick I discovered works like magic is olive oil. Dab it onto the glue with a paper towel and then work it in circular motion to break down the glue. That has never failed to take it off for me.

    • Scott said,

      I like that, never heard it before. I use Goo-Gone to remove label residue. Both products will require washing with soapy water when done, not sure which is cheaper though.

Leave a Reply

