What’s Your Favorite Kit?

January 5, 2008 at 9:41 pm (Kit Wine, Thoughts, Wine Recipes, Winemaking) (, , , , , )

Winexpert kits

My favorite kit so far is Winexpert’s Limited Edition Oregon Pinot Noir. The wine is as good as any $35 bottle I’ve tasted. It cost me about $120 for the 16 liter premium kit and it was worth every penny. I’m also particularly fond of Winexpert’s Gewurztraminer.  I keep hesitating to purchase kits for $60 and $70, I have to keep reminding myself that works out to about $2.50 a bottle with cork and capsule.

I’ve never made any RJ Spagnols kits, I’d love to hear about those or any other wine kits others have tried.  I’m open to recommendations.  Comments please…

2 Comments

  1. Bradley said,

    hello! my name is bradley, I’ve been ready your comments about wine making from a kit. Im really interested in trying it, I love red wine malbec,pinotage, shiraz, but afraid that its to hard to make. what easier to make red or white??

    • Scott said,

      Honestly, if you are making wine from a kit, reds and whites are the exact same amount of work and fun. Just follow the directions, be a nut about cleanliness and just do it. I would say the biggest difference between them is the wines themselves. I tend to purchase the inexpensive kits for whites and then lean towards the premium kits for bold reds. Shiraz, Merlot, Pinot Noir – I would spend the extra bucks on kits with more juice. But only after you have made one or two kits and feel good about your methods and the kits you are buying.

Leave a Reply

