I’m Not a Lush

April 9, 2008 at 6:00 pm (Thoughts, Winemaking) (, )

For some reason, I feel like I have to defend my winemaking tonight.  I probably have no more than a glass or two a week.  Sometimes it’s more like a glass or two a month.  Of course there have been nights where I’ve had too much, but I’m getting to old for that.  I absolutely hate feeling hung over.

This is a hobby for me, just like woodworking and golf.  I enjoy digging in and learning as much as I can about my hobbies.  It’s not to be a know-it-all, it’s because I get joy in feeling accomplished.  I like to learn, I expect to pursue knowledge for the rest of my life.  It’s who I am, it’s what I do.

I think winemaking is loaded with hocus-pocus, and that doesn’t work for me.  The real winemakers are very scientific in their work, but not everybody works that way.  My off-the-boat Italian friend has lots of old wives tales about making wine.  I wish I could remember one right now.

It’s hard to experiment.  For the home winemaker, making five batches of wine from the same juice, but with five different yeasts is not at all practical.  Not to mention the fact that it will take at least six months before you can start evaluating the results.  My scientific training makes me want to try, but it ain’t happening.  So we learn as much as possible and make the best choices.

It comes down to control.  I get to make wine the way I like it.  I make big enough batches to I have what I like available in plenty.  I already have more wine in my basement than I can drink in five years.

It’s okay, I’ll share.

2 Comments

  1. Hayden Walker Alexander said,

    I can totally relate. It’s funny how you change when you get a little older. There is nothing I hate more than that hung-over feeling.

    Looks like you have a really great wine cellar.

  2. I’m Not a Lush | The Homemade Wine Blog said,

    […] Go to Source Comments: Leave a Comment […]

Leave a Reply

