Quick Tip – Cloudy Wine

April 13, 2008 at 10:10 pm (Kit Wine, Quick Tips, Thoughts, Wine Recipes, Winemaking, Winemaking Tips) (, , , , , )

Cloudy wine? Give it time. I know, I’m a regular Dr. Seuss. But really, there are ways to clear wine. You can filter using a filter pad. You can use different fining methods where you add an agent like bentonite or isinglass, that the particles bind themselves to. Even better, be patient. Put the carboy of wine in a quiet and dark corner and forget about it. Every week or so make sure the trap has liquid in it and look at a flashlight through the wine. When you clearly see the bulb, the wine is ready to be bottled. Still cloudy, wait another month and check again.

So why not just filter or add chemicals. You can, lots of people do. I try very hard not to. Most particulates will settle out given enough time. I’m of the opinion that filtering will remove some of the good with the bad. My friend at the winery says filtering strips the color from the wine. I don’t want to filter, I’m lazy.

4 Comments

  1. Paul Smith said,

    I bottled my peach wine that was brilliantly clear. I stored it in my greenhouse (very cold at night). The next day the wine was cloudy.
    This didn’t happen to the pink grapefruit juice wine that was bottled and stored at the same time.
    Any ideas?

    • Scott said,

      Paul,
      Sorry, I’m not sure I’m able to offer any advice. I had a problem with a haze in my peach wine, I ended up ruining it because I tried to cure the haze. I was told it was a protein haze, but I don’t know for sure. I should have just left it and drank it or given it time to settle in the bottle. Of course, putting the wine in a really cold environment isn’t good for it anyway. I’m not a wine cellar expert, but I believe the goal of the storage is a constant cool, dry environment. Temperature extremes are a no-no. I would put the bottles in the basement or somewhere constant and let them sit for a month or two and see what happens. Then drink one every month or so and see if the taste has been effected or if it is clearing.

      • Paul Smith said,

        Scott,
        I brought the cloudy peach wine back into a more friendly environment and it cleared back to its ‘polished’ state within two days without any sediment.
        Happy days.
        Something to remember for the future.

  2. walmart said,

    Good day I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was
    browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb b.

Leave a Reply

