An Update on Plum Wine

November 29, 2013 at 6:10 pm (Winemaking Log) ()

I had a couple half-empty bottles of my Black Plum wine sitting on the server in my dining room.  I had opened them years ago as an experiment and decided the experiment was over a few months ago.  They still smelled good so I poured myself a drink.  As I had hoped, they were still as good as the day I opened them.  I alcohol content is so high (~17%) that it doesn’t spoil.  A regular bottle of wine wouldn’t have made it a week.

During the summer, I happened upon the right time of year for black plums and I purchased 20 lbs of them at a cost of  $0.88 per pound.  I washed them, split them, removed the pits, and stored them in the freezer until my wife decided she needed that space for something Thanksgiving related.  That takes me up to today, when I moved the thawed fruit into the fermenter.  It’s been 10 years since I made the last batch of Black Plum wine, time to restock.  I have a single 10 year-old pack of the high-alcohol tolerant yeast, I’m about to float it and hope the beasties are hungry.

I decided today was the day to clean up this blog; I got rid of the science fiction links and finally posted the limoncello recipe.  I haven’t been posting much new material here, but I get a regular stream of questions that I promptly answer.  Some of the comments and conversations have been going on for years.  If you have questions, ask away.  In the mean time, make a batch of Limoncello, that is the party favorite now for the last several years.

Leave a Reply

